Changing the Primary User Automatically on a Newly Imaged Device

Question

Hi All,

How to change the primary user automatically on the new the newly image device? It sets the primary user automatically based on the first user signing into the device. I want to change it to the assigned user and not the imaging user.

Posted by Joe Ong in HTMD FB Group

automatically - HTMD Forum - Welcome to the world of Device Management! This is community build by Device Management Admins for Device Management Admins❤️ Ask your questions!! We are here to help you! - Changing the Primary User Automatically on a Newly Imaged Device

Answers ( 7 )

    0
    2024-05-17T19:56:55+05:30

    Replied by Andre Williams

    https://svdbusse.github.io/SemiAnnualChat/2020/03/21/Changing-Intune-Primary-User-To-Last-Logged-On-User.html

    Replied by Andreas Erber

    Just don’t give „the imaging user“ an Intune license?

    Replied by Danil Novokhatskyi

    Joe Ong Why wouldn’t it receive? Is there a compliance requirement that only the primary user must use the device? By default, there is no such requirement.

    0
    2024-05-17T19:54:37+05:30

    Replied by Michael Williams

    Ok, I see that is primary user, what is the difference?

    Replied by Danil Novokhatskyi

    Why is the primary user parameter fundamental for you? It doesn’t affect anything except the record in the system. You can use a script that sets the last authenticated user as the primary user.

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Danil Novokhatskyi that is because the user wont receive any configuration profile policies and app policies if they are not the primary user of the machine.

    0
    2024-05-17T19:51:36+05:30

    Replied by Jacinda Pounds

    Jimi McNear Jr. thank you

    Replied by Michael Williams

    Nikita Lunev you can go to the device and reassign the owner…

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Michael Williams yes i can do that but it is not efficient to manually do that for thousands of machine. I am looking for automation solution.

    Replied by Nikita Lunev

    Michael Williams you can not reassign owner… Please show me where that option is even highlighted for you

    0
    2024-05-17T19:48:18+05:30

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Jimi McNear Jr. can you share the script and give details what the script do? Is it power shell script?

    Replied by Jimi McNear Jr.

    Joe Ong it’s a power shell script. Used it a few times but mileage may vary.

    Replied by Jacinda Pounds

    Jimi McNear Jr. I sent a request please

    Replied by Jimi McNear Jr.

    Jacinda Pounds approved it – also changed it so anyone with the link can access.

    0
    2024-05-17T19:43:34+05:30

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Steven McKenzie i am not looking for hash tag add to auto pilot. i am looking for a way to change the default primary user after an IT tech went thru imaging process in Intune and initially logged into the device. Intune will assign the first time user logging into the device as the primary user. I don’t want that because i have to manually change the primary user to the assigned user.

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Julie Reynolds Tindol this is not what i am looking for..

    Replied by Eddie L. Seelke

    Joe Ong I think what Steven is trying to say is that if you have Intune setup correctly there is no need for the tech to login. It should fully image everything and finish at the login prompt for the end user.

    Replied by Jimi McNear Jr.

    Nikita Lunev you can change owner. I have a PS script that does it.

    0
    2024-05-17T19:39:29+05:30

    Replied by Steven McKenzie

    Joe Ong if byod why is primary user changing? If byod it’s their own computer which they will sign in with?

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Steven McKenzie sorry i meant new laptops or computers..

    Replied by Steven McKenzie

    Joe Ong then you get hash tags from the company you purchase hardware from. They normally send it to you as csv file which you import into autopilot

    Replied by Julie Reynolds Tindol

    Joe Ong https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/mem/intune/enrollment/device-enrollment-manager-enroll

    0
    2024-05-17T19:34:44+05:30

    Replied by Nikita Lunev

    You can change primary user but owner will stay the same ( first user) and you can’t change owner until next wipe. Do it properly, let users enroll not admins..

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Nikita Lunev what method do you to let user enroll? U mean pre provisioning?

    Replied by Steven McKenzie

    Joe Ong wipe the computer then let user sign in

    Replied by Joe Ong

    Steven McKenzie so what about BOYD experience? How they gonna join the domain and pick up configuration profile?

Leave an answer

Sorry, you do not have permission to answer to this question .